Skip to content

Hide the brute-force warning in Synology DSM

Compatibility warning for DSM 7.x!

The solution in this post might be incompatible with DSM 7.x as I have not tested it yet.
You have been warned.

Interesting warning, eh?

The latest versions of Synology DSM add a warning if you are using the default system administrator account (Username admin) – for obvious reasons! However, if you want to hide the warning (which I do not recommend at all), you can use the following manual:

Log in via SSH. If you don’t know how to do that, I have already explained it in another article. Enter the following command to open a text editor for a configuration file that we are about to change:

sudo vi /usr/syno/synoman/webman/modules/DisableAdminNotification/config

This opens a CLI editor after you’ve entered your root password. Press I. After that, use your right arrow key to navigate to "autoLaunch":true – now, replace the true with a false. This stops DSM from loading the brute-force warning.

To save your changes, press Esc and enter :wq – press Enter to close the text editor. The warning should now be hidden.

Comments (1) for post “Hide the brute-force warning in Synology DSM”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By posting a comment, you consent to your name and comment being published and processed as described in the Privacy Policy. You may use a pseudonym; your email address will not be published. You can request deletion at any time. This site is protected by hCaptcha and its Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Comments (1)